Big news: I got engaged and my fiancé can cook!

Apologies for taking (yikes!) a month away from writing, but I promise I have a good excuse.

As the title of this post entails, I have some VERY exciting news to share with all of you: my boyfriend of 5 years proposed! Feel free to scroll down if you do not want the engagement details, but if you wanna know how he did it, please read on.

My fiancé has been telling me for the past couple of months that he wanted to do a carriage ride through Central Park before we move out of NYC and move in together. He told me that afterward we could go have a nice dinner in one of the Central Park restaurants. I happen to love dressing up and going out for a nice, long dinner, so I took very little convincing. In fact, I think I jumped up and down with excitement because the plan sounded so romantic. I had no idea that was just the beginning. While on our carriage ride, my fiancé asked if we could stop by Bethesda Fountain (in the middle of Central Park). Still oblivious to what was going on, I happily jumped out of the carriage and strolled towards the fountain. Upon arriving at the fountain, my fiancé gave me a penny and told me to close my eyes and make a wish. I was happy to oblige, and still had no idea what was going on…until I opened my eyes. There, on one knee, was my now-fiancé holding a ring box, asking me to spend the rest of my life with him. There was no hesitation; with tears of joy pouring down my face, I said yes (I don’t even remember if I let him finish his proposal!).

_MG_9660

Here I am, still oblivious to what’s going on

_MG_9661

The proposal

The area surrounding the fountain exploded with applause and cheering. I felt like I had won the Super Bowl! It was then that I realized that there was someone snapping photos of us, and that a guitarist sitting at the fountain’s edge was playing a familiar song…a song that my fiancé and I consider our song. I was such a magical moment, better than any fairy tale or movie scene, and I will cherish that moment for the rest of my life. The next week was a whirlwind of celebration and moving in together, and after weeks of eating out for every single meal we finally got to make dinner at our new place. As if my fiancé weren’t amazing enough, he showed that he can cook too! In all of our years of dating, we have cooked together only a handful of times, and I had never really let him take the reins and cook something all by himself. Well, let me tell you, that is going to change!

Start reading here if you wanna go straight to the food-talk…IMG_4843 For the first dinner in our new place, my fiancé made Chipotle Shrimp Tacos. I love this dish for many reasons: (1) I think soft tacos are one of the best foods in the world, (2) seafood (shrimp especially) is delicious, and (3) you can add heaping mounds of avocado or guacamole to it. Not only is the dish crazy-delicious and flavorful, it is packed with wholesome ingredients (the only things not made from scratch are the chipotle sauce and the tortillas). Shrimp is also a good source of lean protein, and the avocado salsa contributes all sorts of health benefits. This is a dish you can feel good about eating. So go ahead and showcase your culinary skills! And fair warning: you will definitely be asked to make this again.

Chipotle Shrimp Tacos  (Serves 2) Ingredients

  • IMG_484625 shrimp, fresh or thawed, deveined
  • Chipotle sauce (or seasoning)
  • Olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 avocado
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 lime
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, coarsely chopped
  • salt and pepper
  • 4-6 flour or corn tortillas

Directions

  1. In a bowl, mix shrimp with the Chipotle sauce, set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, add the diced avocado, diced tomatoes, diced onion, lime, cilantro, and minced garlic. Fold ingredients together to avoid mushing up the avocado too much. Add salt and pepper to taste, set aside.
  3. Warm a skillet and add olive oil. Cook shrimp for 2 minutes on each side, then remove from heat.
  4. For perfect tortillas: stack tortillas on a microwave-safe plate and drape a damp paper towel over them. Microwave for 30 seconds, or until warm,
  5. On your now perfectly warmed tortilla, layer avocado salsa and shrimp. Squeeze fresh lime juice on top. Serve with beans and rice for a complete meal.
Leave a Reply

