Levain Bakery-esque Peanut Butter Cookies

Apologies for the holiday hiatus! I know you all must have missed me (maybe? anybody? Bueller?). Anyways, now that I am back in the swing of things I am looking back on the past couple weeks and thinking about just how much I benefitted from the break.

Being home for Christmas was definitely the nicest way I could have spent my holiday season. There is nothing like family laughter, home-cooked dinners, and some California sunshine to celebrate a great 2013.

IMG_3863

My sister Corinne and I had a great time catching up over break. With her living big in LA I feel like I never get to see her!

 

IMG_3887

My parents took us to their old date spot…aren’t they just the cutest?

This recipe is inspired by my favorite cookie on Earth: the chocolate chip cookie from Levain Bakery in New York City. Part cookie, part scone, and completely delicious, this baked good ranks #1 on my list of decadent and calorie-laden splurge items. And my family is a fan of this cookie too.

IMG_3900

I added chocolate chips to this batch…one of many that I made while I was home!

So of course when I was home for the holidays I knew I had to treat my family to something special, and this cookie recipe fit the bill. Inspired by the original mimic recipe by the Brown Eyed Baker, per my family’s request I made some changes. Peanut butter became an obvious addition. And it turned out so well! I made this recipe 3 times in the 1 week I was home. Now I know where I got my sweet tooth from!

Levain Bakery-esque Peanut Butter Cookies (makes 12 Levain-sized cookies)

Ingredients:IMG_3899

  • 2 sticks butter, chilled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 ¼ cups flour
  • 1 ½ cups chocolate chips, optional

Directions:

  1. Blend flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl, set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, blend butter with an electric mixer until it clumps together. Add peanut butter and sugar and blend together for 1-2 minutes.
  3. Next, add vanilla extract and eggs, one at a time, while blending the mixture for another 1-2 minutes.
  4. Slowly add flour mixture, blending until the cookie dough just comes together. Mix in chocolate chips, if desired. Wrap cookie dough in saran wrap and chill in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  5. Preheat oven the 375 degrees Fahrenheit. On a baking sheet covered in parchment paper, form 12 cookies (the cookies do not have to have a perfectly round shape).
  6. Bake cookies in oven for 18-24 minutes (18 minutes if you want your cookies a little on the undercooked side). Remove cookies from the oven and allow them to cool before enjoying!
2 thoughts on “Levain Bakery-esque Peanut Butter Cookies

Leave a Reply

