Feel Stressed? Eat a Salad!

This last week was a doozy for me. You know that feeling that there aren’t enough hours in a day to get things done? I actually think I experienced that firsthand. Usually when life gets a little hectic I tend to naturally reach for something sweet: a cookie, some candy, even a spoon of peanut butter. While these things are all delicious (and tend to make me happier in the moment), they definitely do not lend well to eating healthy. And I can become even more concerned when I realize I have eaten a whole package of cookies/candies/peanut butter.

This was not my approach to food during this bout of busyness. Last week I made sure my meals were nourishing and satisfying, allowing me to maximize my brain power to tackle anything in my path. Now that I finally have a free moment, I want to share my recipe for a de-stressing salad: a salad that is easy to make, wholesome, and light. The ingredients kept me calm and focused during my work, and I ended each day feeling satisfied. I would have normally chopped up the almonds in this recipe, but I did not even feel I had the time to do that (safely, that is-I would like to keep all 10 fingers!).

IMG_3646 IMG_3647

Easy to prepare, easy to eat, easy to feel healthy after eating this delicious masterpiece! Say bye-bye to stress and hello to wholesome goodness!

De-Stressing Salad (Makes 1 serving)IMG_3645

Ingredients:

  • 1 cooked chicken breast, chopped
  • 1 cup mixed greens, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup green beans, rinsed
  • 2 Tbsp almonds
  • 2 Tbsp dried cranberries
  • 1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 Tbsp olive oil
  • pepper, to taste

Directions:

This recipe is as simple as throwing together all of the ingredients and enjoying! Feel free to alter the amounts of the ingredients/change the ingredients in the recipe to suit your taste preferences. For example, I ran out of cranberries and used slices of apple and it was still delicious!

3 thoughts on “Feel Stressed? Eat a Salad!

  1. Pingback: Salmon and Avocado Tower | creativelyhungry

Leave a Reply

