The Fruit Stand Man Does it Again

This is a shout-out to my good ol’ fruit stand man.

photo (45)

Something I have always loved about New York is that you can buy some produce right on the street. It’s reasonable, convenient, and varies by season (and there are always bananas… at 4 for $1…somehow I find myself always buying bananas).

So, fruit stands and are awesome and my fruit stand man is the best. He really knows his stuff. If I want a pineapple, he’ll ask me when I am planning on cutting it up and eating it so that he doesn’t chose one that’ll rot on me. That’s quality. And it’s why I will go out of my way to buy fruit from his stand as opposed to any other.

A couple of days ago my ever-dependable fruit stand man was selling me some baby carrots and told me I could get 2 bags worth for a $2 (as opposed to the 1 bag for $1.25). It’s not like it was a killer deal, but I figured they’re baby carrots! They’re healthy! I will totally eat them all no problem!

False.

Veggie-lover that I am, it was a LOT of carrots. And something needed to be done. So I decided to make something, and lo and behold I have made the most delicious and nutritious soup ever: Curried Kale and Carrot Soup.

IMG_3627

This soup is SO good for you! It is packed with carrots and kale (obvious nutritional heavyweights). I also avoided cream completely and utilized chicken broth. And the ginger and curry add some real depth to the flavor of this simple dish. It made a wonderful lunch and I cannot speak of its success enough. I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!

IMG_3624

Curried Kale and Carrot Soup (makes 6 servings)

Ingredients

  • 4 cups carrots
  • 2 cups kale
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1-2 Tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 Tbsp curry powder
  • 1 handful cilantro, chopped
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • yogurt, optional

Directions

  1. In a pot, melt coconut oil over medium heat. Add chopped onion and cook until soft.
  2. Pour carrots and kale into the pot and let them warm for a minute or two.
  3. Add ginger, broth, and curry. Bring to a boil, and then let the mixture simmer until the carrots are soft.
  4. Pour into blender and add cilantro. Blend until smooth. Can pour soup through a sieve for a thinner consistency, or serve as is!
  5. Note: tastes great with a dollop of yogurt and some extra cilantro on top!
Leave a Reply

