My sister’s got cooking skills

I am currently writing this post while in the most blissful state. The post-breakfast state, that is. The “I am perfectly full and feel like I could have energy for days” sort-of state. There is truly nothing better than a good first meal of the day in my opinion. Starting out the day on a healthy and wholesome note kick starts the body into gear, and because of my delicious meal I feel like I could take on the world (at least until lunchtime rolls around).

My sister and mom and both currently in town visiting me and exploring the big city. We have done so much already and they have truly only been here one full day so far. We’ve walked, we’ve shopped, we’ve ate, and we’ve been having marvelous time!

IMG_3509

Today my sister was feeling inspired and decided to make us breakfast. She had a dish in mind, and with that vision we trekked to the grocery store to buy some missing ingredients (fresh-baked bread and eggs). With these ingredients, and some fresh produce, my sister created this: the open-faced breakfast sandwich.

IMG_3513

 

I must say I am so impressed by my sister’s culinary skills. Here was the girl who I could not pay to eat breakfast in high school making me a delicious breakfast while I sipped my morning coffee (correction: I drank that coffee like it was my last…and I still tell myself I don’t have a caffeine addiction).

IMG_3514

This breakfast is just too easy not to make. With fresh produce and a little time at the stove, you too can reach a content state of breakfast 

Open-Faced Breakfast Sandwich (makes 3 sandwiches)

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 slices of Sourdough
  • 3 slices of mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup basil leaves
  • 1 medium-sized tomato
  • 3 Tbsp butter

Directions:

Cook eggs over-easy over a skillet of medium heat. Butter the sourdough slices on both sides and place them on a large skillet. When one side has slightly browned, flip over the toast slices and place mozzarella slices on the toasted side to allow the cheese to melt. When the sourdough is fully toasted, take it off the skillet and place it on a plate. Stack basil leaves, tomato slices, and cooked egg on top of the toast. Sprinkle fresh pepper on top, if desired. 

Leave a Reply

