An awesome weekend with some oat crackers thrown in for good measure

Happy Monday everyone!

I am writing this currently while suffering a slight case of the Mondays. I am sure you know the feeling: exhaustion from the activities of the weekend and a sense of impatience over the fact you are 5 days away from the next 2-day vacay. I am not experiencing the latter issue but I am suffering from the first one. This weekend was just packed with fun things! I was lucky enough to have my boyfriend Nick, his sister and a good friend come into town to spend some time in NYC. In two days time we managed to run a 5K, see a Broadway production, explore the Discovery exhibits, and stop at every cupcake establishment we encountered. We were always on the move.

IMG_3489

Nick posing at the cool rooftop lounge we found. Inventive cocktails and beautiful ambience…you could say we were happy campers.

Anyways, after everyone left the city for home I found myself alone in my apartment with nothing to do except watch Netflix. And since I found myself in this predicament (which isn’t really a bad thing; I am a huge TV show fan), I decided I was going to make some crackers.

Why crackers, you ask? Well for one crackers are delicious. And two, crackers are the perfect vehicle for cheese-which I had sitting in my fridge begging to be eaten. Also, I love taking something that most people buy at the store and creating a homemade version. Less ingredients, no preservatives, and all in all a better-tasting product in my opinion!

IMG_3424

 

IMG_3425

I found the recipe for these oat crackers online and the thing I love about them is that they are not strictly flour-based. The oats add some good grains to fill you up, and the flavor is delicious and unique. These crackers also store well, but that doesn’t guarantee that they will last very long!

Oat Crackers (adapted from Sharmis PassionsIMG_3426

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 5 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1 tsp mixed dried herbs
  • 1 tsp sugar (optional)
  • Salt, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a mixing bowl – add oats,wheat flour, salt and give a quick whisk. Then add all the other ingredients except water.
  2. Mix well it will look crumbly then add water slowly little by little to form a dough.If it doesn’t gather together then add little more water. It will not be pliable so don’t worry about that.
  3. Preheat the oven at 175 deg C for 10 mins.Meanwhile lay a butter paper on a rolling board and take half of the dough and roll it to 1/4 inch thickness and cut into desired shapes.Gather the extras , combine with remaining dough and repeat the same process. Prick holes in the crackers with a fork to keep the crackers from puffing. Transfer the crackers to the baking tray with butter paper.Brush the crackers with milk / oil.
  4. bake the crackers at the same temperature for 20 minutes or until the crackers are golden brown.Cool down and store in airtight container.
Leave a Reply

