Happy Birthday America! Let’s celebrate with a healthy BBQ

Goodness I love Fourth of July weekend: the patriotism, the fireworks, and of course the cookout food! The center of summertime (and the incredibly overwhelming heat wave) means lots of time spent with my boyfriend at the beach, and plenty of outfits centered around my bikini.

Like everyone else who works a desk job and stays indoors all day, I feel like summer snuck up on me. I was not prepared to shed clothing and wear a swimsuit last week, and  I suddenly saw where all the NYC bagels I have been consuming have gone.

Before you all start your simultaneous (and overdramatic) eye-roll, I must give the following disclaimer: I am not saying I am fat. I prioritize good nutrition and habitual exercise, and I have a very positive approach to self-image. This is not a “woe-is-me” sort of post, don’t you worry! What I am saying is that I like to feel svelte and lean during the summer months, and that eating like a bear about to hibernate does not help. Eating wholesome food and drinking tons of water is a huge priority for feeling good and looking good, this season more than any other.

Therefore, I present to you the way to enjoy good BBQ food without sacrificing your swimsuit-ready bod: the Bikini Burger.

photo

The wonderful thing about this burger is that is just as flavorful and just as indulgent as your run-of-the-mill burger. All it really lacks is that completely unnecessary white-bread bun. Even better, eating this burger with a fork and a knife will lead to slower eating. I will admit my biggest problem when trying to eat smart is remembering to eat slow. I have a tendency to inhale my food and speak to no one until my dish is clean. This habit can easily lead to overeating. There are many tips and tricks that encourage slower eating, and using a fork and knife is one of the best ways to ensure this and also lets me enjoy my food more! So next time you’re dishing up at a picnic or BBQ, make the Bikini Burger and commend yourself on a wholesome meal choice!

photo (37)

The Bikini Burger  (Makes 4)

Ingredients:

  • 4 burger patties
  • 4 slices Swiss cheese
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 Roma or Beefsteak tomato
  • 1 onion
  • Lettuce leaves
  • Ketchup, mustard

Directions:

Think of this as a burger tower: lay out a Romaine lettuce leaf and place the burger patty (with or without cheese) on top. Cheese is delicious, but optional (easy way to cut extra calories if you choose…I personally never miss an opportunity to eat cheese). Next place a slice of onion, a slice of tomato, and 1/4 of an avocado on top of the patty. Drizzle with mustard and ketchup.

 

Leave a Reply

