Tropical Green Smoothie

Just because a smoothie appears green does not mean it has to taste like it!

IMG_3350

This weekend while meandering about the city I made an observation: people are really into green smoothies and juices! Juices are a great way to get your vitamins in on-the-go, and they can taste good too (and I don’t care how nutritious something is, if it isn’t tasty I won’t eat it).

I have been needing a way to get my nutrients in, and I figured the best way to do this is by front-loading my healthy eating with breakfast. Plus, if I start the day feeling healthy, chances are I will make it until mid-afternoon before I start craving chocolate (this should prove the power of the Tropical Green Smoothie alone).

IMG_3351

This smoothie is my new go-to light breakfast. The strawberries and pineapple balance out the green-taste of kale, and the vanilla protein powder/almond milk gives the smoothie an incredible amount of creaminess. So delicious, satisfying, and healthy….get your green on today!

IMG_3353

Tropical Green Smoothie (serves one)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup kale
  • 1 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/4 cup strawberries
  • 1/4 cup pineapple
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (or regular milk, if preferred)
  • 2-3 ice cubes (optional)

Directions

Add ingredients to blender and mix on high.

Note: I like my smoothies THICK. Like eat-with-a-spoon thick. If that’s not your thing, omit the ice or add more milk.

Leave a Reply

