For when simply eating a cookie isn’t enough: Oreo Truffles

Last weekend was one of the first mother’s days that I have not been able to be with my mom. Working across the country makes it nearly impossible to coordinate flying back for the weekend, so I did my best to be a good daughter and send along my love and thank my mom for being the most amazing woman ever.

I decided to spend the weekend with my boyfriend and his family, and decided that it would be a really nice gesture for me to make something nice for his mom for Mother’s Day  (after all, Mother’s Day is a celebration for all moms). Plus, it allowed me to try a new recipe that I have been begging to take a crack at: Oreo Truffles.

IMG_3249

Oreos as they are=delicious. Oreos+cream cheese+heavenly chocolate coating=OMG-these-are-so-good.

IMG_3252

Now that I have done the math for you, I can tell you that the recipe is also simple and easy and open to decorating/presentation options. Oreo truffles would make great cake pops, and colored sprinkles on top (or a drizzle of white chocolate) would also pump up the “fancy factor”.

Oreo Truffles

Ingredients:IMG_3254

  • One package Oreos
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • Melting chocolate

Directions:

  1. The fun part: crush Oreos. My method was simple: ask the boyfriend to smash Oreos placed in a freezer bag. He had a lot of fun with this, and punched those Oreos until they were measly little crumbs (which is exactly what I was aiming for). If you don’t have an enthusiastic boyfriend on hand, a rolling pin will also do the trick.
  2. Pour crushed Oreos and cream cheese into a food processor. Pulse until well incorporated.
  3. Roll Oreo/cream cheese “dough” into small ball-shapes. Make them as small or large as you’d like! Place dough balls onto a baking sheet and place in the refrigerator to chill for 2-3 hours.
  4. After the dough is fully chilled (the colder the better), onto the fun stuff: coating the truffles in chocolate. Melt chocolate in a double boiler. Dip each of the truffles in chocolate and transfer them to a parchment paper-lined baking sheet. Cover with sprinkles before chocolate hardens, or once chocolate hardens drizzle melted white chocolate over the baking sheet.
Leave a Reply

