Hey, lets run a half-marathon and then eat some bread pudding!

I finally checked some things off the bucket list this weekend: taking the boyfriend out to the Harvard Club, finally eating at a Momofuku restaurant (it was incredibly delicious, by the way), AND running a half marathon!

IMG_3146

I have always wanted to do something competitive and endurance-based like a marathon. Maybe it’s my love for running, maybe it’s my masochistic tendencies; regardless, I knew I wanted to run some sort of race while living in NYC. The More Fitness Women’s Half Marathon became the perfect solution.

I know you’re all wondering: the race went a lot better than I planned! This does not mean I will be running long distance races forever and always, but it was a fun experience and something I will always remember.

IMG_3152

So now onto the food: after the 13.1 miles I put my body through I was exhausted. So tired that I slept most of the afternoon. By the time I was feeling like a normal person it was getting close to dinnertime, so I went to the kitchen to explore my options. It was then that I re-discovered the Portuguese sweet bread my mom had brought to me when she visited the week before.

Now, I am not particularly fond of Portuguese sweet bread. I am, however, fond of bread pudding. Where my attachment for this sticky, dense dessert came from I may never know but I do know that it is the perfect solution for dry bread.

IMG_3158 IMG_3159

Portuguese sweet bread pudding is a great variation on a traditional recipe, and because the bread had some sweetness to it I was able to go lighter on the sugar content in this recipe. This is a good thing because when eaten in moderation I get to enjoy a dessert I have a soft spot for, hopefully without creating any “soft spots” on my person. And if I eat more than I moderate amount: I ran 13.1 miles yesterday, I certainly believe I’ve earned it.

Portuguese Sweet Bread Pudding (Makes 1 pie dish or 8-11 pan)

Ingredients:

  • 1 loaf Portuguese sweet breadIMG_3160
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup raisins (optional)
  • 2 Tbsp butter or margarine (I actually forgot to add this ingredient and the recipe turned out great without it)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Break bread into small pieces into an 8 inch square baking pan. Drizzle melted butter or margarine over bread. If desired, sprinkle with raisins.
  3. In a medium mixing bowl, combine eggs, milk, sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. Beat until well mixed. Pour over bread, and lightly push down with a fork until bread is covered and soaking up the egg mixture.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 35-45 minutes, or until the top springs back when lightly tapped.
Leave a Reply

