Instant Blueberry Cobbler for One

Warning: I am about to tempt you with a fresh (and reasonably healthy) dessert option: the instant blueberry cobbler.

photo (20)

An overflow of blueberry goodness!

photo (19)

When the need to eat something sweet strikes it tends to be a strong sensation. We can try to distract ourselves from the desire, and sometimes that really works. The distraction method was not working for me yesterday. I was really needing a little dessert fix, something that a piece of chocolate could not cure (believe me, I tried that…why must Fun Size candy bars be so small?).

I did not want my need for dessert to derail my efforts to eat healthy, so I figured I could do something with fruit. Blueberries to be exact. Why not get my antioxidants while enjoying dessert?

This cobbler topping uses a minimal amount of sugar, and I decided on a mix of white flour and whole wheat flour to make the recipe just a little more wholesome. I also chose not to add any additional sugar to the blueberries since the fruit had enough natural sugar going for it. I was impressed by how well this recipe came together, and I can’t wait to try it with other fruits!

 

Instant Blueberry Cobbler for One

Ingredients
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used 1/8 cup white flour and 1/8 cup whole wheat flour)
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • ¼ teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 teaspoons unsalted butter, melted
  • ½ cup fresh blueberries
Instructions
  1. In a small bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt until well combined. Mix in milk and melted butter.photo (17)
  2. Place blueberries in bottom of a microwave-safe ramekin. Mix blueberries with a little sugar (if craving extra sweetness) or some flour-cornstarch (to thicken up the fruit when cooking). Mush up the blueberries with the back of a fork. Scoop cobbler batter on top of the blueberries.
  3. Next, set your cobbler on top of small microwave-safe plate (there is a slight chance that your blueberries will boil over and make a mess). Microwave cobbler on high for 30 seconds, check on cobbler, then microwave another 30 seconds. photo (18)Baking time will depend on the power of your microwave. Adjust baking time as needed.
  4. Carefully take the cobbler out of the microwave (it will be hot!). Dig in to your cobbler as is, or top it off with ice cream, whipped topping, or whipped cream!

 

Ideas for other fruit cobblers: strawberries, blackberries, mixed berry, and peaches all sound delicious to me! What kind of fruit would you use?

One thought on “Instant Blueberry Cobbler for One

Leave a Reply

