Fudge Thumbprint Cookies

Happy President’s Day! I, for one, am celebrating President’s Day by recuperating from the chocolate-overload I gave myself over the course of the last week. I never thought I could eat too much chocolate, but I found out like most normal people I have a limit. Right now just thinking about milk chocolate is making me crave something with a savory flavor.

Despite the fact I cannot eat any more chocolate (I anticipate this feeling will last maybe a day), I wanted to share with you one of the recipes that contributed to my chocolate feasting and one recipe worth making.

IMG_2813 IMG_2814 IMG_2817

I love cookies and I think thumbprint cookies are particularly fun to make. Probably because I like taking cookie dough and experimenting with it, and thumbprint cookies allow me to do just that! Typically, the thumbprint cookie is a plain cookie with some sort of fruit jam in the center where your “thumbprint crater” is made before baking. Now, I like fruit jam as much as the next person. But you know what I like more? Chocolate fudge. So to me, it made sense to fill the crater in my cookie dough with some chocolate and it turned out to be delicious! The fudge made the cookie rich without being overpowering, and the batch did not even last a full work day when I brought it to the office (always a good sign in my book).

IMG_2812

Fudge Thumbprint Cookies (Makes 1 1/2 dozen medium-sized cookies)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature 
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 3 cups all purpose flour, sifted
  • Chocolate fudge (homemade, store-bought, whatever you’ve got!)

Directions:

In a bowl, cream butter until fluffy (about 2-3 minutes). Add sugar and cream until smooth for a couple more minutes. Next, add vanilla extract and egg. Mix on low speed until smooth and scrape down the sides occasionally. Add flour one cup at a time and mix until dough comes together.

Wrap your delicious cookie dough in plastic wrap and sit impatiently while the dough chills in the refrigerator for 1 hour. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Take dough out about 15-20 minutes before you want to work with it. Pull off pieces of cookie dough (or use a tablespoon to scoop the cookie dough) and roll the dough into a ball. Place on a baking sheet and with your thumb, press into the center of the cookie dough ball, creating a crater. In this crater, put a piece of delicious chocolate fudge. Repeat until all the dough or fudge has been used up. Bake cookies for 10 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.

Leave a Reply

