Baked Hot Chocolate for One

Happy (belated) Valentine’s Day everyone!

I love February 14th. I know it’s a holiday that’s extremely materialistic and women-driven. You could say every florist in Manhattan was giving men the little “hint-hint” on what today was and what they should be doing (correct answer: buying a special someone in their life a beautiful bunch of roses intermingled with baby’s breath.)

IMG_2826

I have always liked this holiday because my mom used to decorate the kitchen Valentine’s

Day morning and my siblings and I would eat heart-shaped waffles and make cards to give all of our classmates. Valentine’s Day has always been about love and happiness for me. The fact I have a boyfriend who sent tulips to my office yesterday even though he lives all the way in Boston made it today even better. (Tulips are one of my favorite flowers; the boyfriend knows his stuff)

photo (11)

Anyways, another reason I love Valentine’s Day is chocolate. Man oh man do I love chocolate. So when I saw a recipe for Baked Hot Chocolate my heart skipped and beat and my stomach demanded I give it a try. The original recipe is for two but since my boyfriend isn’t here to celebrate with I adapted the recipe and now it is Baked Hot Chocolate for One!

IMG_2829

Don’t you just love the Valentine’s Day card my friend Magda sent me? I am such a sucker for puppies.

IMG_2828

With this combination you can bet I am ready to celebrate Valentine’s Day

This dessert is extremely decadent. Light in texture and rich in flavor, I felt like I was treating myself to a glorious souffle. And it only took 30 minutes to make, so I will being baking this chocolate treat all the time!

IMG_2842

Mmmmmmmm…..Ooey, gooey chocolate at its finest!

Baked Hot Chocolate for One (Makes 1 ramekin serving)

Ingredients

  • 2 ounces (1/4 cup) semisweet chocolate (I used a combination of dark chocolate and semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 Tbsp butter (or coconut oil)
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 egg

Note: make sure the bowls you are using are heat resistant and preferably glass. You will be using a double boiler technique and I don’t want you melting a bowl or burning yourself!

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Set one ramekin in a baking dish.
  2. Over a double boiler, melt chocolate & butter (If you don’t know what a double boiler is here’s your tutorial: find a pot or saucepan and a heat-resistant bowl that can sit on top of the pot/saucepan but not inside of it-you do not want it touching the bottom. Fill the pot or saucepan 1/3-1/2 way with water and bring water to a simmering boil. Throw your chocolate in the bowl and set on the pot/saucepan and stir until melted. This double-boiler technique is great for melting chocolate without risk of burning it!)
  3. In another bowl, place egg and sugar and beat until combined.
  4. Here’s the tricky part: without burning yourself, move the chocolate/butter bowl off the double boiler and put the egg/sugar bowl in its place. Warm the egg/sugar mixture, then remove from the double boiler.
  5. Beat the egg mixture until light and fluffy (this will take 2 or so minutes, when it’s frothy you’ll know)
  6. Carefully and gently fold the egg mixture into the chocolate mixture. Pour batter into your ramekin.
  7. Fill the pan that your ramekin is sitting in with water. You want the water level to come halfway up the side of the ramekin.
  8. Pop the pan/ramekin combo in the oven (If you’re like me and have balance issues, be extra attentive so you don’t spill water all over your kitchen floor) for 20 minutes or until the top of your baked hot chocolate has lost its glossy look. Take out of the oven
  9. Serve Baked Hot Chocolate to yourself warm, or with whipped cream, or with ice cream, or with more chocolate chips on top…you get the idea.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Valentine’s Day! Make this dessert and feel the love!

Leave a Reply

