Chicken Tortilla Soup

IMG_2654

The original idea for this recipe comes from my best friend from elementary school, Lauren.

IMG_2669

When we were younger, we used to eat bowls upon bowls of this delicious soup. Then I moved to New York, I knew I had to get the recipe from her. Today I decided I was finally going to make it, so I braved the cold to go to the grocery store and buy supplies. Of course, I would come back with all the supplies and be SO excited that I would make enough soup to feed a small army. But no matter; I can still eat multiple bowls of tortilla soup in one sitting, and I froze half of it to enjoy at a later date.

IMG_2674

Chicken Tortilla Soup (makes 6 servings)

Ingredients:

  • Chicken (2-3 cooked chicken breasts, or one rotisserie chicken)
  • 1 package of Taco Seasoning
  • 2 cups chopped carrots
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 can Pinto Beans
  • 1 can Hominy (I used Goya brand)
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes
  • 2 cans of chicken broth
  • Avocado
  • Sour Cream (or Greek Yogurt)
  • Cheese (I recommend a Cheddar/Monterey Jack mix)
  • Cilantro
  • Lime

Directions:

1. Cook chicken on a skillet, set aside (if you have a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken, skip that step and simply pull the chicken meat off the bone and set aside)

2. In a large pot, sauteé onion on olive oil for a few minutes. Add in celery and carrots and stir. Add in beans, hominy, and tomatoes. Next, pour in chicken broth and taco seasoning and chicken and mix. Let the soup simmer for 30 minutes.

3. Ladle a serving of soup into a bowl. Top with tortilla chips, avocado slices, sour cream (or Greek yogurt), and cheese. Sprinkle with cilantro and lime if you would like. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

