Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels

There must be something wrong with me: not even illness can keep me out of the kitchen.

It seems that everyone around me has been falling ill: flu, colds, coughs and sniffles abound. It’s Kleenex and hand sanitizer season, that’s for sure. I had commended myself last week for staying reasonably healthy.

I spoke too soon. Wednesday towards the end of the work, I spontaneously started blushing red and got the chills. Something just did not feel right, and by the time I finally left work I just wanted some soup and my bed. Then, as I was walking up my apartment stairs, the weirdest craving hit me: I was dying for a giant, soft pretzel.

IMG_2590 IMG_2594

Now, I am not one of those people that lose their appetite upon getting sick. And in an effort to appease my aching and unhappy body I do not suppress any cravings.

I stepped into my kitchen and did an inventory check: flour? yes. yeast? yes. As long as the basics were there I knew I was in business. I decided to use whole wheat flour because I love the satisfying flavor and texture. Plus it’s healthy and gives me my whole grain fix.

IMG_2593

These adorable pretzels were made in 30 minutes. Perfect for a craving, and perfect for me. I even feel significantly better today! I’m going to say it’s all because of the pretzels.

Whole Wheat Soft Pretzels (adapted from Life {Made} Simple)

IngredientsIMG_2590
2 c. all-purpose flour
2 tsp. sugar
¾ c. warm water
1 tsp. active dry yeast
¼ tsp. salt
Wash:
1 egg, lightly beaten- combined with…
1 tbsp. melted butter (barely warm)
Topping:
1 tbsp. coarse sea salt OR 2 tbsp. sugar combined with 1 tsp. cinnamon, to sprinkle on top
Directions:
Preheat your oven to 425 degrees, line one baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray. Next, pour the warm water into a bowl (I heated water in a kettle until it was almost boiling and then let it sit for a couple minutes). Add in the yeast and allow to dissolve for 2-3 minutes. Then, add the sugar and mix for 15 seconds. While mixing slowly with a fork, add salt, then flour a half cup at a time. When all of the flour is gone, take the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead it for 4 minutes. By the end of your arm workout the dough should feel smooth and elastic.
Now, here’s the fun part. Divide dough into 4-6 equal size pieces. Roll each ball into a long rope Take the ends of the “rope” and bring together to form a circle. Twist the ends together once and bring down to the bottom of the circle. Press ends into the dough so that they will stick. Place pretzels onto baking sheets.

Next, coat each pretzel with egg/butter wash. Sprinkle with salt (or cinnamon sugar-both are delicious). Place sheet of pretzels into oven and bake for 12-15 minutes. After baking, allow the pretzels to cool for 5 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

