Chocolate Fudge Cookies

I have really been trying to eat less sugar this year. That is my New Year’s Resolution (I realize it’s mid-January, but this will make more sense in a second!).

The reason I have been trying to not eat added sugars is because I used up the sugar supply in my apartment. All four pounds of it. Eeeek! Four pounds in 4 months?! Needless to say, I was appalled at the amount of sugar I had gone through. Granted I was baking for other people also but still. Four pounds?! OK, I am done trying to understand where it all went, let me get back to the recipe.

IMG_2559

I have been hesitant to bake because I know I would use sugar (my sweet tooth demands it). But I could not resist. Luckily, these cookies were a great introduction back into baking. Yes I used sugar, but I used less sugar. So I win.

IMG_2564

I hope you enjoy these not overly sweet, chocolate fudge cookies. This recipe makes only a dozen too, so don’t feel bad about eating the whole batch in one day.

Chocolate Fudge Cookies (Adapted from Dessert for Two, Yield: 1 dozen.)
Ingredients
  • 3.5 tablespoons of unsalted butter, softenedIMG_2563
  • 2 tablespoons apple butter
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tablespoon sour cream*
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • ½ cup flour
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ⅓ cup chocolate chips

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375, and line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat. In a bowl, beat together with an electric mixer the butter, shortening and sugar. Beat for 1 full minute, until light and fluffy. Next, add the egg, sour cream (or extra butter) and vanilla and beat until combined. In another bowl, whisk together the cocoa powder, flour and salt. Pour this mixture over the wet ingredients and beat until just combined–try not to overmix! Stir in the chocolate chips gently. Scoop 2 teaspoons of the dough into your hand and roll into balls. The cookies do not spread, so make ‘em pretty! Bake for 12-14 minutes. Enjoy fresh out of the oven with a cold glass of milk.
*You can substitute an extra tablespoon of butter for the sour cream.
Leave a Reply

