Parmesan Risotto

How did I not discovered risotto sooner?! Truth be told I have never walked into a restaurant and thought “you know what, I’m gonna order risotto”. Today I am here to tell you that I am ignorant no more! Risotto is a new favorite of mine and if you haven’t tried risotto before allow me to introduce you!

IMG_2366

I learned to make this dish about a month ago. My mom loves risotto (and she’s really good

Nick and I at the Giants game last weekend

Nick and I at the Giants game last weekend

at making it), so last time my parents were in town she whipped up a batch for me. I was supposed to be paying avid attention and taking mental notes of what she did, but I must confess I got a little distracted by the pre-dinner appetizers. Meaning, when my boyfriend Nick came into town and I started making risotto for us, I realized I really was going to have to take some creative liberties and see how it went.

Luckily, this dish is so simple and the ingredients so easy-to-find that anyone can make this. Seriously! And since this is a base recipe you can feel free to add anything to it that you wish.

Parmesan Risotto (makes 4-6 servings)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups arborio rice
  • 1 can chicken broth, heated (or a cube of condensed chicken stock dissolved in boiling water)
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1 medium white onion, diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

DirectionsIMG_2368

In a large saucepan, melt 3 tablespoons of butter and throw in the chopped garlic and onion until aromatic. Next, add the arborio rice and stir in the saucepan until translucent. Then add the white wine and stir until the wine has almost cooked off. Slowly ladle the hot chicken broth over the rice, stirring constantly. Add a ladle of broth each time the previous ladle has almost boiled off. Once all the broth has been added and the arborio rice thickened, take off the heat and stir in 1 tablespoon of butter and parmesan cheese, and salt and pepper if you wish. Serve hot immediately.

Leave a Reply

