Strawberry Banana Bread

Just when I thought my banana bread could not get any better…it did!

So, I went from disappearing from my blog for a week to adding multiple posts all at once, but trust me, the onslaught of recipes and cooking ideas are worth it.

This week has felt very long for me: lack of sleep due to baseball games (Go SF Giants!) and playing catch-up at work has left me tired and hungry when I come home. Hungrier than usual. So hungry I bought way too much fruit from the vendor one day. Rotten bananas have a simple solution: my banana bread. But when I looked into my fridge, I saw an excess of strawberries and thought why not; throw them in!

This bread is fantastic. Love the addition of the strawberries. I cannot wait to make it again!

Strawberry Banana Bread

  • 1-2 ripe bananas (about 3/4 cup)
  • 1/2 cup strawberries, rinsed and chopped
  • 1/2 cup Plain-Flavored Yogurt (I used Fage Greek Yogurt)
  • 3/4 cup Light Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1 cup white All-Purpose Flour
  • 1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Teaspoon Salt

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 8 x 4 inch loaf pan with cooking spray. In one bowl, mix mashed bananas and sliced strawberries with baking soda and yogurt. Set aside. In another bowl mix oil, sugar, egg/egg whites and vanilla. In a third bowl mix flours, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Combine all the mixtures (and if you want to add nuts or chocolate chips now is the time to do it!). Bake for about 45 minutes. Makes about 12 slices.

Leave a Reply

