Strawberry Fields Salad

There’s no denying it: this is the most beautiful, colorful salad I have ever made.

So this last Saturday afternoon I found myself wandering around the city (I do that a lot) and decided I should go to Union Square for the first time (I’ve never been-I know, I am clearly still a NYC newbie!). Anyways Union Square was having this incredible farmers market: I am talking fresh fruit, veggies, cheese and meat, wine and baked goods galore. Even fresh cut flowers! Needless to say, I was in heaven. I knew I had to buy something special. And that’s when I saw it: gourmet goat cheese.

I am a big cheese person, and the goat variety just might be my favorite. I love rolling it in nuts, or pesto, or spices to really jazz it up. The one I bought was already fancied-up for me: honey lavender goat cheese. Mmm mmm good. The flavor is so light and aromatic, call me one happy cheese person.

Thus, the inspiration for this salad was born! The tangy, sweet goat cheese mixes perfectly with strawberries and crunchy walnut chunks. And balsamic vinegar is the perfect topping to it all.This salad was light and flavorful and the perfect lunch to satiate me after all that walking around the city!

Strawberry Fields Salad

  • 3 cups Mixed Greens, rinsed
  • 1 cup Strawberries, rinsed and sliced
  • 2-3 Celery Stalks, rinsed and chopped
  • 1/4 cup Goat Cheese, crumbled
  • 1/8 cup Walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon each Balsamic Vinegar and Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

 

The directions are simple: combine in a bowl, toss, and serve!

Next time you’re bored on a weekend day, look up where your closest farmer’s market is. The products are always fresh, and supporting local farmers buy buying and eating their delicious food is a wonderful and satisfying way to spend an afternoon!

One thought on “Strawberry Fields Salad

  1. wow – that looks really interesting – never tried strawberries in a salad – will have to try it out then! 🙂

Leave a Reply

