Brown Rice & Alfredo Sauce

This recipe is one that brings me much pride, as it was something completely new to me.

Now, I am not a natural cook. The flavors and recipes I am familiar with are such because I grew up with them, I have made them with the careful directions of my mom (who is the most creative cook I know), or just got lucky. This alfredo sauce was different since I have never made alfredo sauce before and was not even sure if I had all the basic necessary ingredients (cheese, namely). Lucky for me, I am constantly buying cheese so that was not an issue. I did run into a minor challenge when I looked at my almost-completed product and realized I wanted alfredo on risotto-and did not have any risotto at hand. Alas, a package of brown rice came to the rescue and it was the perfect choice.

This alfredo is everything you want in a creamy pasta sauce: warm, comforting, and easy to make but decadent in flavor.

Alfredo Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup parmesan
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 4 Tbsp butter
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/8 cup chopped herbs (I had tons of cilantro to use, but can easily use basil or parsley)
  • 1 Tbsp red pepper flakes (optional)

Directions:

Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add minced garlic cloves and cook together until aromatic. Add milk and when milk is warm add in cheese. Let cheese become nice and melty (this is a good time to start dipping bread into the saucepan, fondue-style). Add in chopped herbs and red pepper flakes and mix together. Take off heat and pour onto pasta of choice.

One thought on “Brown Rice & Alfredo Sauce

  1. I was perusing for recipes today and came across this one. I had some scallops and decided to make it with this. Came out awesome. I’ve never done the pepper flakes, they add a nice lil kick to the sauce and it was definitely risotto-like without the hassle. I would never have thought to put alfredo on rice. Good stuff nicole, two thumbs up! I gutta learn how to bake now or have shan make some of these desserts cuz they all look real good.

Leave a Reply

