Homemade Goldfish

So once again, I am craving a snack food and this time it is Goldfish. I don’t know why I do this, but over the course of the last year whenever I have a craving for something (usually cookies or crackers) I feel like I should make it from scratch rather than run to the store and buy it. Maybe I like a challenge. Maybe it saves my body from the intake of unnecessary preservatives. Maybe if I see what exactly goes into my favorite snack food I won’t eat the entire box or bag in one sitting.

I said maybe.

Anyways, disclaimer: my crackers are not actually in the shape of those cute little fish. But that’s okay because they taste just like that wonderful snack that smiles back! The recipe is all thanks to Amy over at the Tasty Kitchen Food Blog. Her recipe is perfection and her crafty fish cookie cutters are so creative! My creativity amounted to utilizing my melon baller as a cookie cutter which actually gave me this really delicious bubbles of cheesy, crunchy goodness.

Question for my readers: what is your favorite snack food? I might have to make that next!

Homemade Goldfish (makes about 7 dozen)

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 4 Tbsp butter, cubed
  • 1 cup Flour
  • 2 Tbsp Water
  • 3/4 tsp Salt

Directions:

Pulse everything except the water in a food processor until the dough looks grainy (like sand). Add water 1 Tbsp at a time, pulsing the ingredients together between additions. Once incorporated, remove the dough and wrap it in plastic wrap. Chill dough in the fridge for 20 minutes. Once the dough is chilled roll it out and cut it into desired shapes. Place cutouts on a baking pan that is either covered in parchment paper or treated with cooking spray. Bake at 350 degrees F for 15 minutes or until crispy.

Leave a Reply

