Quick n’ Easy Biscuits

It was a challenge in self control to wait and take a photo before devouring these biscuits. They’re just that good.

As you all know by now I love baked goods. And biscuits are a personal favorite of mine. Maybe because they’re bread-like. Or maybe because they’re buttery. Or because I can spread jam on them…

Apologies for the digression.

Anyways, these biscuits are perfect with jam and butter or accompaniment with soup and salad. They reheat in the microwave too, so not to worry if you do not eat the whole batch hot out of the oven (though I found if I cut the recipe in half I did). You can get the original cream biscuit recipe here from The Alchemist. Since I am living by my lonesome and I prefer baked goodies as fresh as possible I cut the recipe in half. I also used soy milk instead of cream because I did not want to leave my apartment (lazy, I know).

Quick n’ Easy Biscuits (Makes 3 drop biscuits)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 + a little extra tsp salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 475 degrees F. Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt with a whisk or fork. Slowly pour in milk and mix with a spoon until the dough comes together. Next, you can either roll the dough out with flour and cut it, or do drop biscuits like I did. Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes, or until golden. Best just out of the oven with a pat of butter (and jam of choice).

Leave a Reply

