Super Awesome Quinoa Shrimp Stir Fry

You could say I am quite pleased with myself and the outcome of this dish.

I made this delicious, fresh concoction on Thursday night for dinner. I was leaving Friday to ship up to Boston (I had to go “see about a guy”). And I knew I should not leave any fresh produce in my fridge. I found myself working with mushrooms, snow peas, onion, baby carrots, and cilantro. What to do what to do…then it hit me: my med school buddy and fellow foodie Magda was telling me the other day all about a chicken stir fry she created. It was the perfect solution for this hodgepodge occupying my fridge.

Stir fry is the best way to eat the maximum amount of whatever you want to get rid of. I decided on shrimp because I love seafood, and I was apprehensive about mixing in quinoa but it turned out to be perfect as the slight crunch from the quinoa created the perfect texture. Easy to make, and flexibility in ingredients: I cannot wait to experiment and make a more “Thai” inspired stir fry with peanuts; or a bona fide sweet and sour sauce. Oh the possibilities!

Quinoa Shrimp Stir Fry

Ingredients:

12 precooked frozen shrimp; defrosted (optional: butterflied)

1 handful baby carrots; cut in half or thirds

1 small onion; cut thick

1 cup mushrooms; sliced

1 cup snow peas

3-4 Tablespoons cilantro

2 Tablespoons marinated ginger; minced

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 Tbsp brown sugar

2 Tbsp olive oil

Salt and Pepper

Red Pepper Flakes; to taste

1/2 cup water

3 Tbsp rice vinegar

1 clove garlic; minced

1 cup cooked quinoa.

Directions:

Premix stir fry sauce in a small bowl by mixing soy sauce, rice vinegar, ginger, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes in a bowl. Set aside. In a medium saucepan; heat olive oil and garlic until aromatic. Throw in onions, mushrooms, and carrots; turn heat up to medium-high and stir constantly. After about a minute throw in snow peas. Pour water into saucepan (it might steam-this is normal!) and let water evaporate while the steam helps cook the vegetables lightly. Stir mixture while adding in shrimp. Immediately pour stir fry sauce in after and coat all the ingredients. Allow the sauce to warm and heat the stir fry. When the vegetables in the stir fry are of the consistency desired (I personally prefer my veggies on the firmer side so I heat the sauce/stor fry mix for about a minute, maybe 2) turn heat down. Add in cilantro and quinoa. Eat on top of rice, more quinoa, or by itself.

Leave a Reply

