Pesto Mushrooms

Confession: I like when my fridge starts running out of food.

Really? You may ask. A food lover who likes running out of food?

Allow me to explain. I like running out of food because I like being challenged; forced to make something tasty out of the remnants of what is still fresh and edible in my fridge (and these days is not frozen since I accidentally turned the cooling knob up on Saturday).

I had already made a mediterranean falafel salad to eat when I got back from the gym. But  I found that I was still hungry. I knew I wanted something with protein, but I did not want to defrost any chicken, and I wasn’t feeling up for turkey slices. Which is when I realized that I had a huge basket of mushrooms waiting to be sautéed with garlic and olive oil, and some homemade pesto sauce I made the other day using basil, kale leaves, lemon, greek yogurt, parmesan, lemon juice and olive oil. I just heated this all up together in a saucepan and served it alongside my salad with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese. In a word: SATISFYING. The natural nutty flavor of the mushroom meshes perfectly with the tangy basil. And prepping this dish like I would a pasta is the way to go: I almost fooled myself into thinking I was eating pasta. Except it was better, which is a hard thing to convince myself of considering my love for a good hearty carb.

So next time you start running out of groceries, instead of making your shopping list, start making a list of all the things you would make with just what you have. Now get going and be creative!

Pesto Mushrooms

2 cup mushrooms

3 Tbsp olive oil

1 garlic clove

1/2 cup pasta sauce (it doesn’t have to be pesto!)

Parmesan cheese, to taste.

Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add minced garlic clove. Throw mushrooms on and stir for a couple minutes until they get nice and warm and steamy. Pour pasta sauce right into saucepan and mix, turning the heat low for a few minutes more. Transfer to a plate, sprinkle with Parmesan, and pat yourself on the back for being healthy and clever in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

