Spicy Shrimp Stir Fry

This last week was certainly a busy one and a long one. So much so that I made this meal Thursday night and it took until now for me to finally post it! I love work and I love accomplishing things (who doesn’t love crossing out tasks from a to do list? Anyone? Bueller?), so much so that I have been coming home starving, and only have waited long enough to scarf down a PB&J and some snack food for dinner.

Now don’t get me wrong I love a good PB&J sandwich. But after the second night of this I decided enough was enough: I should probably eat some veggies. I needed a cleanse from the richness of peanut butter.

Knowing I need protein to actually make a meal satisfying, I decided that shrimp would be the way to go. I went to the grocery store and bought a cornucopia of fresh vegetables: sliced mushrooms, snow peas, mixed greens, cilantro…got it all!

The great part about this stir fry is that it is quick, simple, and flavorful. Oh, and I made it super spicy; so much so that I drank at least 2-3 glasses of water with dinner. I have pared down the spicy factor in the recipe below, but simply add a little more ginger or chili paste if you prefer more heat!

Shrimp Stir Fry (for one)

Ingredients:

8 fresh or defrosted frozen shrimp, butterflied

1/2 onion, sliced thin

1 garlic clove, minced

2 Tbsp oil (olive or coconut: those are my go-to’s)

1/3 cup sliced mushrooms

1/2 cup (I just grabbed 1 handful) snow peas

3 Tbsp soy sauce (optional)

1 Tbsp chili paste

1-2 Tbsp minced marinated ginger

1 Tbsp cilantro, diced

Directions:

In a heated saucepan add oil, garlic, and onions. Let the onions warm for a couple minutes then throw in the ginger, mushrooms, and snow peas. After the mixture has warmed throw in the rest of your ingredients (chili paste, shrimp, soy sauce, any other vegetables you fancy). Once the shrimp has warmed up fully you’re all set. Transfer to a plate, sprinkle with diced cilantro, and enjoy!

Since I was devoid of veggies for a week I decided to eat the stir fry over mixed greens; however, I cannot wait to make this again and put it on top of rice or quinoa to make it a fully balanced meal!

Leave a Reply

