Lemon Pepper Chicken and Pesto Quinoa

I needed a super quick meal last night.

I had a long day at work, an exhausting spin class at the gym, and it was already 8pm. I. needed. food. I almost stopped into the local Chinese place to grab a deliciously sinful order of Orange Chicken and Chow mein. But then I told myself: c’mon, you can make a way healthier meal in a very short amount of time, just use your imagination!

A challenge was born, and in just 30 minutes, I managed to make this masterpiece of a plate.

Zesty lemon chicken, hearty pesto quinoa, and a refreshing caprese salad…all in 30 minutes!

Here is how I did it:

I had defrosted  chicken in the fridge, I pulled that out and filleted the chicken breasts in half. It ensures the chicken cooks thoroughly and it will cook quickly. I already had turned 2 burners on: one saucepan was heating up 3 tablespoons olive oil and one quickly pressed garlic, the pot was boiling 2 cups of water.

As soon as the water in the pot boiled I threw in 1 cup of quinoa. The quinoa part is easy: over time the water, still boiling, will simply boil away leaving you with cooked quinoa. So, just let that be and we will focus on the chicken now.

When the saucepan has heated up throw on your freshly filleted chicken breasts. Be careful as hot olive oil can and will back splatter and hit you if you get too liberal with the throwing. While one side is cooking sprinkle some lemon pepper on the other side. I flipped it over after about 3-4 minutes.

While the chicken and quinoa are cooking is the perfect time to slice your tomato and mozzarella for the caprese salad. I simply arranged the slices on the plate and topped them with balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper to my liking.

By now, the quinoa and chicken will be done. The pesto I put on top of the quinoa was one I made a couple of days before, so if you just buy a store-made pasta or make a sauce in advance that will keep this meal quick.

And that’s that! Healthy, wholesome meal and all in the time it takes to watch a TV show on Netflix (which is exactly what I did, and the show of choice was Psych). Bon appetit! 

Leave a Reply

