Breakfast for Dinner: Perfect Egg Scamble

I am sure to you this might look a little gross, but scrambles are just so tasty and mine was so packed with fresh, delicious ingredients. You know you wish you were here to have a bite.

It was another one of those nights again, the ones where I come home starving and just have to eat my meal as soon as possible. So, that means no pasta-from-scratch or slow-cooked ribs. Egg scramble it is.

I have always loved the idea of breakfast for dinner. I do not know why, maybe when I was younger it made me feel like I was being rebellious eating breakfast foods at a non-breakfast time. Regardless, this scramble was just perfect for my needs as a hungry/impatient girl. And it was incredibly healthy as it was packed with lean protein and a garden’s worth of vegetables. I will offer some examples of scramble recipes below, but I recommend adding whatever ingredients you see fit. Now turn on that stove and get cooking!

My Perfect Scramble

2 eggs

1/3 onion, chopped

1/2 bell pepper, chopped

1 handful of spinach

1/2 tomato, chopped

chicken breast, shredded

cheddar cheese

Olive oil

Sauté olive oil with onion and bell pepper in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Add in tomato and spinach. Scramble 2 eggs in a bowl and pour into saucepan. Turn stove heat to medium-low. When eggs look like the are starting to cook add in cheddar cheese and mix the scramble together until egg looks more cooked and cheese has melted. The trick for getting eggs that are not dry is to keep the heat low so that everything cooks slow.

Other Ingredient Combinations:

The Veggie Scramble: broccoli, bell pepper, onion, tomato, swiss cheese, and chives

The Italian Scramble: tomato, basil, and mozzarella cheese

The Spanish Scramble: chorizo or chicken (I recommend sprinkling taco seasoning on top), cheddar cheese, bell pepper, onion, tomato, avocado and fresh salsa on top

Leave a Reply

