Raw Broccoli Cherry Salad

Aloha. I am in PARADISE!

I am currently on the most wonderful vacation. I guess you could say it is a vacation from my vacation. Anyways, I hope this explains why I have not been as vigilant about posting my lovely meals/recipes for everyone to enjoy. Mahalo for you patience! (Mahalo is Hawaiian for thank you)

This vacation has been so relaxing, and the perfect opportunity for my mom and I to experiment in the kitchen (which we have been doing to much success)! Here is our latest: broccoli cherry salad.

This side dish is wonderful because it is super easy to make and the combination of tastes and textures is unparalleled. Sweet, crunchy, and light in texture but heavy on flavor, it is perfect to bring to a picnic or tailgate, and you will have friends begging you for the recipe. I hope you enjoy it with your friends and family this summer!

Raw Broccoli Cherry Salad   (Serves 4-6)

6 cups broccoli, chopped into bite-size pieces

1 cup raw or salted sunflower seeds

1/2 cup red onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup dried cherries

10 pieces bacon, chopped and cooked crispy

Homemade Salad Dressing (recipe below)

 

1. Mix together broccoli, cherries, red onion, sunflower seeds, and bacon

2. Top with dressing and combine until all ingredients are covered

 

Homemade Salad Dressing

1/4 cup mayo

1/4 cup vinegar

1/2 lemon (for juice)

1 Tbsp mustard

2 Tbsp minced garlic

1/4 tsp salt

 

I am planning on trying a lot of new things in the kitchen while still on this vacation. I just can’t turn down a good opportunity in the kitchen when I see one!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

