Honey Bunches of Treats

When I am home, you could say I am lazy.

I call it creative.

Case in point: I had marshmallows I wanted to use up, but no Rice Krispies cereal with which to make Rice Krispie treats. Instead of driving to the store, I decided Honey Bunches of Oats would replace Rice Krispies in the recipe to become Honey Bunches of Treats. I even coated some in chocolate.

I don’t know why I have never thought to do this before! The textures and honey flavor in the Honey Bunches of Oats cereal make this treat more flavorful. And the granola bits are absolutely fantastic!

Honey Bunches of Treats

1 package Honey Bunches of Oats cereal

1 package full size marshmallows

3 tablespoons butter (may need an extra teaspoon or two-especially if you’re like me and love anything buttery!)

Chocolate chips (optional topping)

 

First, melt butter in a saucepan. Then add marshmallows and let the warmth melt them into a gooey, sugar-laden mess. Next, add in the cereal and mix. Spread the mixture onto a pan that has been lined with wax paper (you will thank me when the clean up is as easy as removing the wax paper). If you chose to add the optional chocolate chips, spread them on top of treats while the mixture is still warm, then spread them once they melt for a nice coated layer. Enjoy!

Fun Fact: all you college students out there can make these in your dining hall microwave! Simply downsize the recipe portions (Using a mug as a measuring tool: 1/2 mug of mini marshmallows, 1 spoon butter, an 1/2 mug of cereal). Microwave marshmallows and butter together until melty, then really quickly pour in the cereal and stir. So easy!

Leave a Reply

