Pita Pizza

When I am craving pizza I feel like the natural inclination is to just go out and buy a slice of pizza. I guess that explains the 2 trips to Nochs (iconic Cambridge pizza and subs establishment) I made over the course of this week. However, this pizza fix was not enough and I found myself still craving the warming, cheesy goodness of a slice o’ pie. So I decided it was time to make it myself.

I learned a valuable lesson while undertaking this culinary endeavor: know your dining hall staff. I was eating in my friend Magda’s dining hall, and although I dine there so often the staff greets me, we are not close enough yet where I can request food items. So, when I entered the food area super stoked about the idea of making pita pizza, I was devastated to find no pita in sight! At first, I did not know what I would do, but I was so sold on the idea of making pizza that I did what any hungry, determined college student would: I grabbed the next closest thing to pita I could find, which turned out to be flatbread sandwich thins. In the end, it actually turned out pretty good! My mini pizza of feta, red spaghetti sauce, peppers, and broccoli curbed by pizza fix and was cute too.

I was feeling pretty proud of my pizza, and then Magda sat down next to me with the most incredible pita pizza I have ever seen.

Amazing, right? And it tasted even better than it looks!

Strategy for the perfect pita pizza:

1. Spread pasta sauce on pita bread, then add toppings (you can add anything you like, here are a few ideas: grilled chicken, onions, peppers, mushrooms, corn, BBQ sauce, ham, pineapple)

2. Sprinkle on cheese, the more the better! (Magda’s secret is a 3-cheese blend of shredded cheddar, parmesan, and feta)

3. Microwave pita pizza until cheese is melty

4. Carefully move pizza to the panini press for a few minutes (Careful not to close the press to avoid a gooey mess!). The panini step is crucial if you are a fan of a crispy pizza that is sturdy enough to hold all the toppings.

That’s all, now all you have to do is slice and enjoy!

In the dining hall there is no make your own pizza station, but all the ingredients are right there. In fact, if you’re feeling creative this is the meal to make because the sky’s the limit with what you can do!

Leave a Reply

